Sharadiya Navratri 2017 Schedule: Ghatasthapna muharat, puja vidhi and all you need to know

Share it:
Save on your hotel -

Markets are filled with red chunnis, earthen pots, Goddess Durga idols and 'Jai Mata Di' stickers. As Shardiya Navratri begins on September 21st, here's all you need to know to start the puja.

Thursday marks the beginning of one of the most auspicious occasions in the Hindu calendar as the devotees prepare for Sharadiya Navratri.

The 9-day celebration begins on September 21st with the faithful fasting and worshipping nine different avatars of Goddess Durga.

The most important ritual is kalash sthapna or ghatasthapana as it marks the beginning of Navratras.

Ghatasthapna is a way to invoke Goddess Durga and it is very important to know the correct muhurat for the ritual.

According to Drik Panchang, these are the thithis for Pratipada:

Pratipada Tithi Begins = 10:59 on 20/Sep/2017

Pratipada Tithi Ends = 10:34 on 21/Sep/2017

The Ghatsthapna muhurat will last for almost two hours, the Drik Panchang says.

Ghatasthapana Muhurta = 06:12 to 08:09

Duration = 1 Hour 56 Mins

However, many astrologers are also saying that the kalash sthapna is best done in the 'Abhijit Muhurat'.

Abhijit Muhurat for Ghatasthapana = 11:46 am to 12:34 pm

The devotees must also note that that Ghatasthapana must be done in the right muhurat as there would be a Rahukaal later in the day.

Rahu Kaal begins on 3:16 pm

Each day of the Navratri is celebrated with an avatar of Goddess Shakti.

- 21 September: Maa Shailputri Puja

- 22 September: Maa Brahmacharini Puja

- 23 September: Maa Chandraghanta Puja

- 24 September: Maa Kushmanda Puja

- 25 September: Maa Skandamata Puja

- 26 September: Maa Katyani Puja

- 27 September: Maa Kalaratri Puja

-28 September: Maa Mahagauri Puja

-29 September: Maa Siddhidatri Puja

Kanya pujan

On Ashtami and Navmi, many households will conclude the Navratri with 'Kanya pujan'.

It includes washing feet of 9 young girls below th age of 13 and a young boy that symbolises Hanuman or Langur.

These 'Kanyas' are offered halwa, chana and poori.

After this the devotees can break their fast.
Share it:


Post A Comment: